Coat of arms
GovTT Banner

News Center


Francis thanks COSTAATT for 15 years of service to the nation

Oct 30 2015

Francis thanks COSTAATT for 15 years of service to the nation

Caption: Francis thanks COSTAATT for 15 years of service to the nation

Dr. the Honourable Dr. Lovell Francis, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Education, delivered a heartwarming address at the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago’s (COSTAATT) 15th Anniversary Celebrations and Long Service Awards Celebrations at the Hyatt Regency on Tuesday 27th October, 2015.

Dubbing educators and other staff of the tertiary level institution as “great emancipators”, Minister Francis thanked COSTAATT for the contributions they have made for their students and the country. He said, “You all are important because you actually do the things that are required to really build an independent nation”.

Sharing a background of education instruction in common with the audience, Minister Francis elaborated that the role of staff at the tertiary level is significant to the development of both the individual and country. He said, “At the end of the day, as a nation we only progress when we produce students that understand that we have a responsibility that goes beyond their pockets. They need to understand that it is imperative that they help to build a better society.”

Minister Francis extended his heartfelt appreciation to COSTAATT and reiterated the importance of their efforts and strides made towards the development of Trinidad and Tobago. He declared, “Education is emancipation. Whereas our history books never mention them, you all are the people who invest in the education of others and you all are great emancipators. The betterment of our society stands and depends upon you.”

COSTAATT, officially launched in 2000, is the largest, national public provider of tertiary education in Trinidad and Tobago.

Also in attendance were Amroodeen Ali, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education; Professor Dyer Narinesingh, President of the University of Trinidad and Tobago; Teresa Davidson, Director, Funding and Grants Administration Division; Maureen Manchouck, Former President, NIHERST; Dr. Alvin Ashton, Former Vice President of Higher Education, NIHERST; Margaret B. Diop, Chargé d’Affaires, US Embassy, Port of Spain; Dr. Jeffrey Bartkovich, Former Provost, Monroe Community College, New York and Dr. Patricia Spradley, Associate Professor of Education, Queensborough Community College, New York.